Can I write an essay with only questions?

Can I write an essay with only questions? How would I write something like that? Would it be readable? Would it be interesting? How long can I keep this up? Would it become pedantic in form? Would it be too ironic? To self involved? Too self referential? Would it just be an annoying attempt at shoehorning skepticism into a textual format?

And, most importantly, would it make sense? Would it be an analysis of a piece of writing that only asks questions?

Would it just be a logistical experiment in writing? Would it be merely a formal exercise?How could I begin each sentence? Would each sentence begin with speculative language? How would it all be designed? Would the structure not lend itself to variety? Would it be merely a thing of unity? How could I structure a thing like this?

And how could I transition to new paragraphs and new thoughts? Would I just move on? Can I reference previous ideas or would that be problematic in the document’s continuum? Should each sentence relate to the previous sentence? Would the whole thing really just come out like a torrent of questions? Shouldn’t I use a period at some point? Don’t I need to pause and take stock of things? Don’t I need to make a declaration?

And in writing this am I not analyzing the structure of the question itself? Does this form of speculation lend itself to a certain world view? Does this method of writing create a platform with which to inquire?

Does this method of writing lend itself to being a skeptic? Or is this some kind of dogmatic relativism wherein nothing is ever stated, nothing is ever claimed? Is this method of writing merely a way to never truly address knowledge? Is this investigation just a method to hide behind? Is the skeptic a coward?

Shouldn’t skepticism be a tool in the philosophical tool belt rather than a philosophical Swiss army knife? Can skepticism precede knowledge? Is that the most valid approach to knowing?

Am I merely putting my anxieties about epistemology on display? Is that what a question truly is? A fear? What can I know? How can I justify that knowing? Who tells me I know? Who measures the knowing? What do I do with doubt?

Is doubt all consuming? Does doubt ever go away? Does doubt polish the knowing? Does doubt strengthen knowledge? Does doubt lead to certainty? Is it possible that doubt strengthens knowledge and therefore strengthens conviction? And if conviction is strengthened then is it possible that doubt is weakened? Can knowledge be stable when it is continuously challenged? And if knowledge can never be stable then can doubt be stable? Can knowing exist at all?

And is it possible that I am merely making statements but asking them in the form of a question? Doesn’t that seem quite likely? So is the issue here that I am not really asking questions but instead, leading the reader as much as any other argument building writing method? Am I merely writing a standard sentence and applying a question to the end and a speculative word at the beginning?

And by this point, am I not desperate to put a period at the end of a sentence? Do I not want to make a claim? Doesn’t writing and thinking beg to come to a close and respond to those questions? Doesn’t the format of writing beg to end in a period? How long can this go on?

And don’t things end? Don’t they just? Don’t sentences end? Don’t lives end? Isn’t that just the way of things? Endings? Declarations? Claims? And can I ask a question with a single word and a question mark? Am I leading this investigation? Shouldn’t this end at some point?

Could I use the scientific method to end this essay? Could I use the scientific method to assuage my doubt? Is the scientific method really the thing I am using here? Is the scientific method a loop rather than a line? Is it possible that instead of generating outwards infinitely, the scientific method circulates infinitely. Does this inquiry follow the scientific method of observe, question, hypothesize, predict, test, theorize, question, hypothesize, predict, test, theorize, etc? Where is the logic in doubt? Where is the logic in this language analysis? Where is the logic in epistemology? And should logic enter into this discussion? Can the scientific method be used on knowledge?

The question is, how could this end? How can this essay terminate? If the essay is itself a question, then how can that question cease? How can a question end? Is this essay solvable and therefore capable of ending? Should it end? Is it an infinite thing? Does a question just lead off into infinity? Is a question an infinite pendulum swaying on a gray horizon? How could I ever reach that horizon? How could I see through that fog? How could it end?

Why must there be periods? Are endings to sentences actually expressions of fear? Are sentence endings, our endings? Endings we need?

Graceful endings? Are they good endings? Weak endings? Whom do those endings serve? Whose ideas do those endings serve? Whose world view is justified in these endings? Who can sleep at night because questions can or cannot be answered? Who can sleep at night because an answer is enough?

How do I end this? Why do I end this? Where is my graceful ending?

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

