Playing with Others/ Sharing is Caring/The Unknown :Interlocating the Interlocutor (the many possible titles for this blogpost)

For this residency I proposed two tandem projects – firstly I would continue exploring my “stretch/re-stretch” method of painting. The following is an example of this method. Four  separate paintings to create a single painting. This was a sort of proof of concept that I submitted.

77f2a6e67a8011b2c9b21d85d3cc88ee

Four Paintings, One Stretcher, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 29×18″

When I arrived to VisArts, I began making a work I am calling, Painting Paintings at Both Ends (working title). This work is still in progress. This painting is following that stretch/re-stretch method of painting.

2016-09-17-14-58-17

Painting Painting at Both Ends (working title), acrylic on canvas, 60×216″

The second component I proposed for this residency was to enact this “stretch/re-stretch” method with other local painters. A participant makes a painting then un-stetches, then re-stretches into a new register, then the next participant paints as normal – rinse and repeat. I may expand this process into a mail art project in the future, but for now I am specifically interested in exploring local artists of the D.C., Maryland, and Virginia area. These are my local peers and my local influences. Locality is a significant component.

The first participant is Becca Kallem. I am interested in Becca’s work because I get a similar sense of a struggle. I can empathize with her paintings. They don’t seem to just occur – there is some hill to climb, or river to ford, or some inexplicable unknown to ponder. Becca’s work is also very diverse. It is observational and representational, even when falling into the category of abstracted.

Becca brought me several of her paintings to work with. This collaboration is beginning with her works, and now I need to respond. She said that some are unfinished or some are not where she wants them to be. They are paintings that might fit well into this project.

2016-09-17-16-24-17

assorted acrylic and oil paintings on canvas made by Becca Kallem

This is a complex proposition. I have begun and I am already seeing a vast gulf of impossibility. If I “just make a painting,” then I think I am making something very formal. As in, it is just paint, it is just design. Becca’s paintings obviously have a context. See the following.

2016-09-17-16-34-53

unfinished Becca Kallem painting, acrylic and spray paint on canvas

This pink painting has tape with the words “Greco (pink tag).” The painting has arcane appearing marks. A sort of greco shield design – the triangle. An aries curling horn. There are significant symbols present. It is a pink philosopher’s stone. There is some kind of alchemy present and I have little access. Sans understanding, how I could I possibly paint on top of this painting? So right off the bat, this project befuddles me. And I feel completely lost. Which I think is what I want with this project. Stay tuned for updates.

See more of Becca’s work at

http://beccakallem.com/home.html

and

http://projectdispatch.virb.com/becca-kallem

and

https://www.arlingtonartscenter.org/resident-artists-aac

 

 

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

